QUEENS LIBRARY BOARD OF TRUSTEES THURSDAY, JANUARY 24, 2019 <u>M I N U T E S</u>

A meeting of the Board of Trustees was held at the Central Library, 89-11 Merrick Boulevard, Jamaica, NY 11432 on Thursday, January 24, 2019. The meeting was called to order at 6:44 PM by Vice Chair of the Board, Michael E. Rodriguez Esq.

I. Roll Call

Attendee Name	Title	Status	Arrived
Judy E. Bergtraum, Esq.	Chair of the Board	Present	
Michael E. Rodriguez, Esq.	Vice Chair of the Board	Present	
Robert Santos, Esq.	Treasurer	Present	
Eli Shapiro, Ed. D., LCSW.	Secretary	Excused	
Lydon Sleeper O'Connell	Assistant Treasurer	Present	6:53 PM
Matthew M. Gorton	Board Member	Present	
Julissa Gutierrez	Board Member	Present	
James M. Haddad, Esq.	Board Member	Present	
Pauline Healey	Board Member	Present	
Andrew P. Jackson	Board Member	Excused	
Carl S. Koerner, Esq.	Board Member	Present	
Haeda Mihaltses	Board Member	Present	
George Russo, Esq	Board Member	Present	
Edward Sadowsky, Esq.	Board Member	Present	
Earl G. Simons, Ed. D.	Board Member	Excused	
Udai Tambar	Rep - Mayor's Office	Excused	
Allan Swisher, Esq.	Rep - Borough President	Present	
Jimmy Yan	Rep - Comptroller	Present	
Antwaun Gavins, Esq.	Rep - Public Advocate	Excused	
Eve Cho Guillergan, Esq.	Rep - Speaker	Excused	

January 24, 2019

		.
Dennis M. Walcott	President & CEO	Present
Nick Buron	Chief Librarian & Sr. VP.	Present
Lewis Finkelman, Esq.	Chief Operating Officer & Sr. VP.	Present
Sung Mo Kim	General Counsel & Sr. VP.	Present
Gitte Peng	Chief of Staff & Sr. VP.	Present
Michael Tragale	Chief Financial Officer & Sr. VP.	Present
Justin Carroll, Esq.	Associate General Counsel	Present
Jonathan Chung	Director of Government Community Affairs	Present
Elizabeth de Bourbon	Director of Communications	Present
John Katimaris	VP, Capital Projects	Present
Sharon Myrie	VP, Programs and Services	Present
Larry Vedilago	VP, Risk Management	Present

II. Approval of BOT Minutes

1. Approval of Minutes of the Board of Trustees Meeting (ID # 1914)

Recommended Motion for Consideration:

I move that the Minutes of the Board of Trustees and Committee meetings be approved as submitted.

RESULT:	ADOPTED [Unanimous]
MOVER:	Judy E. Bergtraum, Esq.
SECONDER:	George Russo, Esq
AYES:	Bergtraum, Esq., Rodriguez, Esq., Santos, Esq., Gorton, Gutierrez, Haddad
	Esq., Healey, Koerner, Esq., Mihaltses, Russo, Esq., Sadowsky, Esq.
EXCUSED:	Eli Shapiro, Ed. D., LCSW., Lydon Sleeper O'Connell, Andrew P. Jackson,
	Earl G. Simons, Ed. D.

III. Report of the Chairman of the Board

IV. Committee Reports

A. Executive Committee - January 24, 2019

1. Approval of Executive Committee Report (ID # 1916)

Recommended Motion for Consideration:

I move that the report item(s) of the committee meeting be accepted and the action item(s) be approved as presented.

RESULT:	ADOPTED [Unanimous]
MOVER:	Michael E. Rodriguez, Esq.
SECONDER:	Robert Santos, Esq.
AYES:	Bergtraum, Esq., Rodriguez, Esq., Santos, Esq., O'Connell, Gorton, Gutierrez,
	Haddad, Esq., Healey, Koerner, Esq., Mihaltses, Russo, Esq., Sadowsky, Esq.
EXCUSED:	Eli Shapiro, Ed. D., LCSW., Andrew P. Jackson, Earl G. Simons, Ed. D.

B. Finance & Investments Committee - January 24, 2019

1. Approval of Finance and Investments Committee Report (ID # 1915)

Recommended Motion for Consideration:

I move that the report item(s) of the committee meeting be accepted and the action item(s) be approved as presented.

RESULT:	ADOPTED [Unanimous]
MOVER:	Carl S. Koerner. Esq.
SECONDER:	Julissa Gutierrez
AYES:	Bergtraum, Esq., Rodriguez, Esq., Santos, Esq., O'Connell, Gorton, Gutierrez,
	Haddad, Esq., Healey, Koerner, Esq., Mihaltses, Russo, Esq., Sadowsky, Esq.
EXCUSED:	Eli Shapiro, Ed. D., LCSW, Andrew P. Jackson, Earl G. Simons, Ed. D.

V. President's Report

1. Key Performance Indicators Report December 2018 (ID # 1917)

VI. Other Business

Judy Bergtraum, Chair of the Board, changed the order of the board of trustees meeting to accommodate Dennis M. Walcott's early departure. The meeting began with the "Other Business" section of the agenda.

1. Election of Officers - 2019 (ID # 1921)

Judy Bergtraum thanked the board for the opportunity to serve as board chair. Dennis Walcott, President and CEO, and Haeda Mihaltses, the new chair of the board, thanked Ms. Bergtraum for her service to the board. Mr. Walcott was excused for the remainder of the meeting at this time.

Recommended Motion for Consideration by the Board of Trustees:

I move that the Nominations of the Officers for 2019 be accepted as presented by the Nominating Committee:

Chair of the Board:	Haeda Mihaltses
Vice Chair:	Robert Santos
Secretary:	Earl Simons
Treasurer:	Lydon Sleeper O'Connell
Assistant Treasurer:	Eli Shapiro

RESOLUTION

WHEREAS, at its regularly scheduled meeting held on November 20, 2018, the Board of Trustees of the Queens Borough Public Library elected a Nominating Committee comprised of the following Trustees: Michael Rodriguez, Esq. (Chair of the Committee), Carl Koerner, Esq., Judy Bergtraum, Esq., Julissa Gutierrez, and Lydon Sleeper O'Connell; and WHEREAS, the Nominating Committee prepared and submitted to the Board of Trustees, at least ten (10) days prior to the Board's regularly scheduled meeting held on December 20, 2018, its recommended slate of candidates for officers of the Library for calendar year 2019; and WHEREAS, at the Board's regularly scheduled meeting held on December 20, 2018, the Nominating Committee recommended the following slate of officers of the Library for

calendar year 2019:

Chair of the Board:	Haeda Mihaltses
Vice Chair:	Robert Santos
Secretary:	Earl Simons
Treasurer:	Lydon Sleeper O'Connell
Assistant Treasurer:	Eli Shapiro

WHEREAS, at the December 20, 2018 meeting, the Chair of the Board asked if any Trustee would like to nominate any other officers and no other nominations were offered; and

WHEREAS, at the December 20, 2018 meeting, the Board of Trustees unanimously approved a motion to close nominations for officers of the Library for calendar year 2019.

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Board of Trustees that, after due deliberation, the following Trustees are elected as the officers of the Library for calendar year 2019 and shall continue in office until their successors shall have been elected and qualified:

Chair of the Board:	Haeda Mihaltses
Vice Chair:	Robert Santos
Secretary:	Earl Simons
Treasurer:	Lydon Sleeper O'Connell
Assistant Treasurer:	Eli Shapiro

RESULT:	ADOPTED [Unanimous]
MOVER:	Michael E. Rodriguez, Esq.
SECONDER:	Haeda Mihaltses
AYES:	Bergtraum, Esq., Rodriguez, Esq., Santos, Esq., Gorton, Gutierrez, Haddad
	Esq., Healey, Koerner, Esq., Mihaltses, Russo, Esq., Sadowsky, Esq.
EXCUSED:	Eli Shapiro, Ed. D., LCSW., Lydon Sleeper O'Connell, Andrew P. Jackson,
	Earl G. Simons, Ed. D.

2. BOT Committee Assignments 2019 (ID # 1922)

The board recommended Jim Haddad and Matt Gorton to fill the at-large positions of the Executive Committee. Ms. Gutierrez moved the motion and Mr. Santos seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Recommended Motion for Consideration:

I move that the Board of Trustees approve the committee assignments as presented:

RESULT:	ADOPTED [Unanimous]
MOVER:	Carl S. Koerner, Esq.
SECONDER:	Robert Santos, Esq.
AYES:	Bergtraum, Esq., Rodriguez, Esq., Santos, Esq., O'Connell, Gorton, Gutierrez,
	Haddad, Esq., Healey, Koerner, Esq., Mihaltses, Russo, Esq., Sadowsky, Esq.
EXCUSED:	Eli Shapiro, Ed. D., LCSW., Andrew P. Jackson, Earl G. Simons, Ed. D.

VII. Adjournment

1. Motion to Adjourn (ID # 1913)

Recommended Motion for Consideration:

I move that the meeting be adjourned.

RESULT:	ADOPTED [Unanimous]
MOVER:	Carl S. Koerner, Esq.
SECONDER:	Michael E. Rodriguez, Esq.
AYES:	Bergtraum, Esq., Rodriguez, Esq., Santos, Esq., O'Connell, Gorton, Gutierrez,
	Haddad, Esq., Healey, Koerner, Esq., Mihaltses, Russo, Esq., Sadowsky, Esq.
EXCUSED:	Eli Shapiro, Ed. D., LCSW, Andrew P. Jackson, Earl G. Simons, Ed. D.

The meeting was closed at 6:58 PM.

Secretary